Sunday, 3 September 2017

Best ever line up for OVO Energy Tour of Britain

This year's OVO Energy Tour of Britain will feature its best ever line-up of riders!

The 120-rider field for the race contains three of the past five riders to have won the World Road Race Champions in Michal Kwiatkowski (2014), Philippe Gilbert (2012) and Mark Cavendish (2011) as well as three former Tour of Britain champions in Edvald Boasson Hagen (2015 and 2009), Dylan Van Baarle (2014) and Lars Boom (2011).

That strength in depth is backed up by who rank the 2017 Tour as having the best quality field of any edition of the OVO Energy Tour of Britain to date, with eight of their top 25 ranked riders taking part and 24-riders having won Grand Tour stages.

Recently crowned European Road Race Champion Alexander Kristoff is one of six Olympic medallists in the field, while there are also five current National Road Race Champions down to start the OVO Energy Tour.

Fans can also look forward to seeing the special jerseys of World Time Trial Champion Tony Martin, European Time Trial Champion Victor Campenaerts and six national time trial champions in action during the Stage Five test against the clock at Clacton, Essex on Thursday 7 September.

The OVO Energy Tour of Britain is British Cycling's premier road cycling event, giving cycling fans the opportunity to see the world's best teams and riders competing on their door step, taking place between Sunday 3 and Sunday 10 September 2017.